Guitar Cable Quality

MisterGuitarMan

Silver Supporting Member
I would like to know what you recommend for quality guitar cables. I have been playing acoustic guitar for about 30 years. I used to play electric guitar when I was younger and am now getting back into it. I recently bought a Les Paul and I have been using a 30 year old cable, so I thought I would try out a new cable to see if it would sound better.

I went to a local store and bought 2 10' cables and some short cables for pedals. When I plugged in one of the 10' cables it generated a high pitch squealing noise and I was quite surprised by that. So I tried the other 10' cable and it worked fine. I am thinking about returning all of the cables and going with a different brand. I paid around $31 for each of the 10' cables and thought I was getting better quality. The brand is Livewire Elite.

I am using the cables to play in a band at my church.

What brand do you recommend?

How much should I expect to pay for a high quality cable?

Does the length make much of a difference? If you go with a 15' or 20' cable will it make a difference in the sound?

Floyd Eye

Mogami Golds. There are more expensive and less expensive. Lots of them come with lifetime warranties. All I know is the Mogamis are excellent. I have had mine for 6 or 7 years of pretty constant gig use and never had a single issue. I think they were around $50 for an 18'.

Guinness Lad

All kinds, Joe Naylor makes something called Armour Gold, those aren't that expensive and sound very good, the other which is a good cable is Canare GS6 cable which can be purchased on ebay.

62Tele

Silver Supporting Member
I still like George L's - just soldered up a few more with Switchcraft ends. I think they sound great, and they hold up extremely well.

GuitarMD

I am a huge fan of Neutrik silent plugs. When you unplug your guitar, you don't get that terrible buzzing/crackling stuff plus they are very solid connectors.
- Spectraflex N-flex