Guitar on ebay help

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by metheniac, Mar 3, 2015.

1. metheniac

metheniac Supporting Member

Last edited: Mar 3, 2015
  2. mrboston

mrboston Gear Fan Vendor

3. Ampedusa

Ampedusa Member

Looks legit to me but I'm not a expert. I believe historics have inked SN# not indented ones. Also has nibs, usually not seen on fakes.

4. thecasterkid

thecasterkid Member

looks like a doctored up junior special if you ask me.

[​IMG]

IMHO, the custom shop would NEVER do a LP special w/o a wraptail bridge

5. XKnight

XKnight Member

Looks legit, but the price is definitely not right.

6. Rumble5

Rumble5 Member

Get a Junior Special and save yourself $1800.

7. mrboston

mrboston Gear Fan Vendor

I'm no expert either .. Good to know the info you brought out��

8. metheniac

I think it is definitely legit but the price seems way high. The serial number is not supposed to be indented on custom shop guitars so I am not the least bit worried it is fake. The strap buttons are not original, the owner has sent me additional pics of the truss, electronics cavity etc.... and they are all original or in good order. There is no certificate for a custom shop but it comes with the high end case which is a bit odd, not sure but looks to be all original otherwise. It is definitely a custom shop build but not really sure how to price it. I would guess in the mid to high teens but not the current asking price. Any more thoughts are welcome.

9. sshan25

sshan25 Supporting Member

Historic Specials should have a wraparound bridge not a stop bar, right? Or am l wrong?

10. metheniac

I think you are correct however whoever at the Gibson CS built this based it loosely on the special and then took matters into their own hands. They do that pretty consistently from many of the guitar models I've seen over the years come out of the CS. Not looking for historical accuracy on this one, I just dig it and really kind of wonder what the pricing on it should be.