Guitar Practice Journal Idea

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by dos87, Sep 9, 2018.

1. dos87

dos87 Member

Hi guys,

I'm a guitarist and entrepreneur who is looking for feedback on an idea I have for a hardcover practice journal, which is something I've always wanted in order to track my practice and know the most important things to focus on in order to get the best results from my practice.

The journal idea as it stands at the moment is going to have a daily section consisting of date, 3 most important practice goals for the day, exercises (3 most important with time allotted, star ratings for how you felt you improved and a notes section. Underneath that is supplementary exercises and then a daily reflection on how the musician felt they went with their practice and how they can improve. There's also a weekly section that lays out the focus areas for the week in the key sections of technique, repertoire, etc.

Anyway, I would love to know whether if I went ahead and got this hardcover journal funded and made (will probably have to be crowdfunded, so it will cost a bit) whether anyone would actually buy one? Thanks everyone!

2. Ejay

Ejay Supporting Member

If you become the next celebrity guitar God in a few years it will prob sell.
    Else..im not to sure ;)

3. AXEL276

AXEL276 Member

I practice everyday for several hours. It's been like this for me for over 40 years. I do mentally set both long and short terms goals and sometimes make notes. IMO your idea sounds like to much time and effort logging detail and taking away from playing. At times I have kept an informal notebook but it was just the date and some notes I didn't want to forget. I would not use such a product and if I did have a need to keep more detail it could be done using any off the shelf binder.