Guitar repair job

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by oacikgoz, Mar 13, 2008.

1. oacikgoz

oacikgoz Member

Hi everybody,

I own a US Fender Strat with Floyd Rose bridge HSS. I never got my guitar repaired since I got it in 1996 and a few months ago I realized that it has a serious intonation problem. I took it to the guitar technician. He told me he can get rid of the problem for 35 dollars and told me that the action is too much for a floyd rose guitar. (He also told me he's never seen a strat with floyd rose.)

A few days later I got the guitar back but he told me that the guitar has more serious problems than he anticipated and that the guitar needs shimming (whatever that is, I'm a complete noob when it comes to techs.) and serious adjustment. I guess he told me that the neck should be removed and installed again to remove some sort of tension due to truss rod. He told me he did all he can to fix intonation. Yes, the intonation is fixed but the floyd rose saddles are ALL the way to the back now and I can't do fine tuning at all and there is string buzz on higher notes.

He told me that for an extra 80 dollars he could get rid of all problems... I worked with that technician for the first time and he charges lower fees and I told him I'd think about his offer. Do you think what he is suggesting might be dangerous for the guitar? I don't want someone to ruin it completely. Is this price fair?

Also Could someone tell me what he could have meant?

Thank you very much

2. Rosewood

Rosewood Member