Guitar Syths question

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by alvagoldbook, Feb 1, 2008.

1. alvagoldbook

alvagoldbook Member

I'm a newbie to the world of guitar syths. I was thinking of getting a Roland GR-20. It would be awesome to have the ability to play "piano" or "strings" on my guitar, but I find attaching a Roland pickup to my guitar to be a nasty and nightmarish thing to deal with. So I'm wondering if there's any good synths out there with those kind of capabilities without attaching a nasty thing to my guitar to get it to work. Any suggestions?

2. jaywalker

jaywalker Member

If you have a Les Paul or 335 type guitar, attatching the GK3 is a doddle, you just mount it on the bridge in like 5 seconds.
    Most of my guitars are GK3 equipped, but none of the pickups are screwed onto the body, just taped with high grade double sided selotape. No problems as of yet.

I even have them on my acoustics.

3. Mincer

Mincer Member

You can get piezo pickups installed, like RMCs or the GraphTech GHOST system. Unfortunately, you can't trigger a polyphonic synth with a monophonic source, like regular guitar pickups. At least, not very well. You are looking at some woodworking to install the 13 pin jack, though, and some tricky wiring.
    You could always buy a synth-ready guitar too, like the Fender RR series or the Brian Moore i-series.

4. alvagoldbook

alvagoldbook Member

Yeh, I play mostly fenders. I was wondering if anyone tried hooking up something like a GR-20 with regular guitar pups. Is it possible? If so, does it sound like complete and utter crap?

Hopefully, I'm not

:horse

here.

5. jaywalker

jaywalker Member

Theres no way you can run a GR20 with regular pickups.
    The GK2/3 features 6 mini singles/humbuckers and each signal is totaly independent.
    sticking a GK3 on a strat is simlpe, just peel off the syicky tapa that comes with the unit and stick it between the bridge and pickup.