Guitar teachers.... What are you paying in room rent?

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by nrandall85, Feb 13, 2012.

1. nrandall85

nrandall85 Member

I've been teaching out of a music store here in WNY for about two years. Since I've started, there's already been a huge rent hike (it went from $3.50 per lesson to $4.50, and I charge $18 per half hour.)

The way things are now, students are allowed to cancel with at least 24 hours notice. In the event of a cancellation, I will either make up the lesson or prorate the following months. The same goes for if I get sick. This enables Billy to get to his ballet recital, and Suzie to celebrate Columbus day, etc. Parents are generally good with giving plenty of advance notice if anyone will be away on vacation, etc.

So, as a result my room rent varies from month to month. I pay per lessons taught, which I have marked on my calendar and calculate into a rent payment each month.

They issued a letter today stating that they will be using a new system for billing rent. They will charge $4.50 times four weeks in a month per student to the teacher. They suggest that in lieu of allowing a cancellation policy, that I'm to explain to students and parents that they will receive approximately four free lessons per year (five week months) for the flat rate.

This is troublesome to me. I have a hard enough time collecting a full month's lesson payment from each student as-is. And it seems that under this new system I'll be losing out on a lot of potential income for those five week months.... I'm not crazy about offering up anything I've spent years studying for free either.

I will now be responsible for "room rent," which I think is exorbitant already, for an entire four weeks per student whether or not I can convince them/their parents to pay me for it.

Any thoughts? I'm open to any suggestions.... Renting a space of some kind, some kind I persuasive argument, etc.

Apologies if more clarification is needed.