• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!
  • If you are seeing this, you are on the new TGP servers. Bear with us as we work out any issues related to the move. The end result should be a far better snappier experience on TGP. *Notice: You can close this notice by clicking on the "X" in the upper right corner.

Guitar tuning issues

I have been playing guitar for over 22 years and I have never had a single guitar that stayed in tune. I've had setups done, most recently on my Fender MIM Strat, tried the Big Bends stuff in the nut slots and on the bridge saddles of a Carvin, blocked off the bridges on Strats so they won't move, had locking tuners put on, etc. Nothing gives me tuning stability. Even my Ibanez RG1570 (Edge Pro bridge) doesn't keep tuning. I was just now playing the Strat that had been set up by a shop just a couple of months ago and practicing a double stop solo and the guitar kept going out of tune.

Frankly I'm sick of this and want to know what to do. These are all great sounding and playing guitars. I use .009 to .042 strings but how can that be a problem when others use them and their tuning is fine?

Even when I play in church (I rarely solo because bending is a problem) the guitar will inexplicably be out of tune when I check it after a song, and that's just playing chords, and I don't hit the strings all that hard. What's the deal here?

stormin1155

Well, you know the old saying.... a guitar player spends half of his time tuning his guitar and the other half playing out of tune....