Guitar Wiring Wizard Requested

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by MetalGuitard, Feb 17, 2009.

1. MetalGuitard

MetalGuitard Member

I'm looking for some suggestions.

Here's what I have:
    Dimarzio Evolution humbucker ( bridge position )

Dimarzio Air Norton [single coil-sized ] ( middle position )

Dimarzio Tone Zone ( neck position )

5-way, 4-pole blade superswitch ( Fender/CTS )

3-way Gibby style toggle

One vol pot

One 500k push/pull 'tone' pot

I know I want the bridge humbucker series in position 1 but other than that, I have no preference/experience with all the phase/split options using multiple pickups.

I would like a nice strat neck and neck+middle sound but I'm not set on it.

I prefer not to have any noisy single coil sound yet when I use only a coil-tap on the Evoution it gets a very nice sound and very little noise.

I haven't found any diagrams anywhere on the web via google but I don't need a diagram per se but rather some combination's that have proven to be useful. I'm considering using the 5-way AND the 3-way both and ditching the tone pot however, I'd kinda like to hear what a coil-tap blend knob swould sound like since I saw a vid of a Gary Kramer guitar that had one and it seemed pretty cool. Not sure how that is acomplished though.

Check my sig for the rest of my gear. I play anything from death metal to blues to porgressive and post-rock. Thanks for checkin out my post. I look forward to your replies.

2. MetalGuitard

MetalGuitard Member

FWIW - I did finally find some superswitch wiring combos on allpartsjapan.com thanks to another round of googling...

3. walterw

walterw Gold Supporting Member

"nice strat" sounds are going to be right out.

you could wire up the superswitch to give you: bridge series, 1 bridge coil + 1 middle coil, middle pickup series, 1 mid coil plus 1 neck coil, neck series. 5 hum-canceling settings, and the 2 & 4 settings might be sorta stratty.