Had my amp on "Zero" and told to turn down

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by xcycle, Dec 26, 2009.

1. xcycle

xcycle Member

Yes its true! But let me say that there was still some sound coming out I guess because of the amount of gain my pedal board was pushing my JTM45 clone with. Not loud at all mind you but I didn't realize my amp would do this. Talk about a thin, buzzy sound, yuk.

I guess the soundguy should have asked me to turn down my pedals.

Thank God I have an Aracom on the way, this is getting ridiculus.

Cheers
    Eric

2. guzman

guzman Member

I guess no soundman has ever play guitar.

3. dets1

dets1 Member

i played a fill in country gig one time, and they had us turn down to the point i could hear my pick going across the strings.

4. JWK

JWK Member

This reminds me of when I asked to join the high school jazz band. They didn't have a guitar. Director wasn't thrilled, but said OK. I studied chord charts so I could function. Went to my first rehearsal. Director says turn down. Turn down again. Turn down. Next rehearsal starts out with turn down. Turn down again. Halfway through rehearsal a little light bulb went off in my head. I reached over and turned the amp down all the way. Posed all the way through the next half hour. At the end I asked the director how my volume was, how I sounded. Big smile. That's good, sounds great. I didn't go back.

The band never did get a guitar until he retired.

5. Full Monty

Full Monty Member

Played a gig in a local social club and before we even started one of the old ladies sitting near the front had her fingers in her ears!! I made a joke out of it (she laughed along with everyone else) but it is quite bizarre how some people think live music should be no louder than a portable transistor radio.