Handwired AC15 problems and tube recommendations

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Raccoon, Feb 22, 2012.

1. Raccoon

Raccoon Active Member

Now I'm almost certain that my problem is the powertubes going bad.. but.. I'm really no expert. I've been getting a lot of static/popping noises at random lately and just today I noticed my amp is significantly quieter... especially after it heats up for a while. I opened up that amp and noticed one of my tubes is growing a really bright red (never used to do that.) Anyway.. tube problems or something worse?

So what should I get for tubes. I really loved the way this amp sounds.. so maybe I should get some more stock ruby tubes? Or maybe it will sound better with.. different tubes?

I heard the jj's are good.. they've always sounded good to me in the other amps. I thought about maybe getting some JJ's for the preamp and mullards for the power. Also I noticed there are two preamp tubes labled high-gain... so.. should I look for highgain preamp tubes to replace it or does that matter?

I'm not looking for the classic vox tone.. in fact I like the greenback more than the blue's.. I'm just looking for a really nice sound. I also don't want anymore gain.. less gain is fine.. just no more gain.

2. Blue Strat

Blue Strat Member

Sterling, VA (not far from Washington DC)
    No one can say for sure if the problem is tubes. The way to find out is try new tubes and see if the problem goes away. Worst case, you'll have a spare set of tubes which you'll need within a year anyway.

Ruby doesn't make tubes. They rebrand common tubes on the market today. What you have may be JJ's with Ruby labels on them.

3. Raccoon

Raccoon Active Member

That's what I assumed.

4. Gretsch&Vox

Gretsch&Vox Member

I use JJ ECC803 (low gain, as opposed to the ECC83 high gain) preamp tubes, matched JJ EL84 power tubes and a JJ EZ81 rectifier tube.

5. Raccoon

Raccoon Active Member

Whats the tonal differences between the two?

6. Gretsch&Vox