Harmonic Minor vs Melodic Minor

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by eddie101, Sep 6, 2006.

1. eddie101

eddie101 Member

what are the true, uh, differences between the two scales and over what progressions can you play them and make them sound "right"?

For example, I was told that you can play Melodic Minor scale (I think) over "Little Wing" chords. Can someone explain as to WHY? Thanks! :YinYang

2. Kappy

Kappy Member

The HM is the same as the MM except the HM has a lowered 6th and the MM does not. Harmonize them to find out which chords they work over.

3. MGT

MGT Member

I'm still learning this stuff but there are modes for each of those scales just as there are for the major scale. For example, the 7th mode of the melodic minor is the superlocrian mode & also known as the altered scale (because it contains all of the notes that are used to alter a dominant 7 chord).

Thanks for the reminder that I have a hell of a lot of work to do!!!

4. willhutch

willhutch Supporting Member

Big topic. There are lots of cool sounds with these scales. Do some web research. There are a lot of books that cover this, too. Don Mock has a book entitled Melodic Minor Secrets revealed that does a good job helping unearth the cool sounds avaiable. I think there is a Harmonic Secrets revealed as well.

5. beePee

beePee Member

Harmonic Minor is used to alter the V chord from minor to major or dominant chord.
    Typically it’s only used over the V chord in the compostion.It’s formed by raising the 7th of the Natural Minor.

A Melodic Minor is altered for the resolution of melody lines. It raises the 6th and 7th of the Natural Minor when it ascends up…and lowers them both back down to their original pitch when descending. A perfect example of this is Bach’s Bouree from the Lute suite in E minor. And “Yesterday” by a group called the Beatles. :)