Has anyone here ever completely lost the desire to play guitar?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by rich2k4, Apr 17, 2016.

1. rich2k4

rich2k4 Supporting Member

I am 27 years old, I have been playing for 13 years. Throughout high school and college, guitar consumed my life. It is all I did when I got home from school. When I wasn't reading about guitars, I was thinking about them. Countless hours spent playing, hours spent browsing TGP these last 10 years. I did the band thing for a little bit but it wasn't my thing, but I mostly enjoyed playing on my own, or privately with 1 or 2 friends.

I used to have a small group of "guitar friends" 4 people, including me. They would come over and we would play, try out each other's guitars, amps, etc.

These friends eventually moved on to other things, moved away. I finished college, got a full time job, and the desire to play just evaporated fairly quickly. It is not like I have no free time. I have a lot of free time after work, but I spend it watching netflix/youtube/ and video games. It seems like for the last couple years, I have had no motivation to plug in and play.

I've been trying to determine why I started playing in the first place, and I can't think of any concrete reason. When I was 14, I was a huge gamer., and spent most of my time on the computer My dad disliked this, and wanted me to get involved in something "more serious" so during a xmas eve family get together in 2003, he found out that my cousin was taking guitar lessons. One thing led to another and he got my cousin to start teaching me guitar. I'm not really sure why I went along with it. I guess I felt it didn't hurt to give it a shot.