1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Has anyone here quit their job and gone back to music school - later in life?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by Jeeves, Jul 24, 2006.

1. Jeeves

Jeeves Member

Just curious if you've done it, at what age, and what your experiences were. Where did you go? Did you find work in the industry or go back to your previous line of work after graduating?

2. gennation

gennation Member

I quit my music career to go back to school and now have serious high paying job run a network at an ISP.

I still play, practice, write, and record constantly. I just don't have to drop everything and go "play in the band" anymore. I like it much better this way.

3. BarneyFife

BarneyFife Supporting Member

I wish I could afford to. Anyone who could pull this off would be my hero.

4. Jan Folkson

Jan Folkson Member

Being that my day job is in the music industry, I didn't need to quit, but I went to Juilliard as an adult. I was 34 at the time and didn't plan on graduating, just taking classes. It was well worth it.

5. rgsss14

rgsss14 Gold Supporting Member

This brings up an interesting phenomenon. I would have loved to have gone to music school before I started training for my current job....

The thing I've thought about through the years is that one can have a steady "day" job, and have music on the side; then it's up to to the individual to take the music as far as it can go. In a way, one can "have their cake and eat it too"... to a degree....

I don't think one can have it the other way around - you can't be a full time musician (just being frank here - no offense) and have the time to devote to the stability of that "real life" job.

That having been said, in a dream world, most of us part-timers would love to do this (music) for a living... we just don't have the guts, I guess....

6. tfunster

tfunster Gold Supporting Member