Has anyone here tried learning the piano?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by STRATSofPLENTY, May 22, 2015.

1. STRATSofPLENTY

STRATSofPLENTY Supporting Member

Ive been playing the guitar for over 20 years and I've always loved the piano. Has anyone tried to learn the piano as an adult? I'm currently in my late 30s. Did you find it difficult? I just started learning it and having a tough time with it, even though I find it helps my guitar playing because I can visualize the theory better.

2. KnowTalent

KnowTalent Just SAY NO to "Creamy" Distortion

I played piano for a year or so, long ago in my pre teen years, and getting the left hand rhythym back is frustrating.
    I found hand coordination much simpler with guitar but yeah the linear nature of a keyboard makes theory much simpler IMO

Good Luck

3. Mike R.

Mike R. Member

Was my first instrument. Started when I was pre-teen. Learned to read and got pretty ok. Dropped it for guitar later on simply because it's easier to move a guitar than a piano. Still ok at it. Can't comment on learning as an adult but if you commit to practice you should be ok.

4. o0Ampy0o

o0Ampy0o Member

I started noodling on piano a few years ago. I was really enjoying it and happy with my progress. I decided to get a different piano. About the same time I was distracted by changes going on and stopped. I stopped playing guitar as well and was completely absorbed in a different venture. I hardly touched the piano right after getting a different model but I have since gone back to the piano to begin again. I lost a lot of the ground I had covered, not that I ever got to the point of describing it as "playing piano." It was "noodling on piano" but I could do something to break away while I was building a foundation of basics. As with guitar it is easier than ever to learn many things with the technology available today. I have not taken formal lessons but players recommend you do for piano more than they do for guitar.