Has this ever happened to you?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Shades of Blue, Dec 3, 2019 at 2:09 PM.

1. Shades of Blue

Shades of Blue Supporting Member

So, I sat down on Saturday to play my Les Paul through my Marshall Origin and was having a blast. 10 minutes later, I was done and ready to move on to something else. I have been playing guitar for over 21 years, but I just don't enjoy playing alone any more, and when I do play I want to be playing with others. I see no need for me to play electric any more, and would rather just play acoustic if I'm by myself.

Has anyone else just lost interest in electric guitar due to their personal situation? I just feel like I've given it all the time I can and I feel like electric guitar doesn't have anything else to offer me in life. I still want to pursue it, but I feel that my time is better spent on acoustic.

Also, my heart is telling me join the Praise Band at church, but I know that between work, family, and my pursuit of my MBA that playing in a band isn't even a possibility for at least another 3-4 years, if I ever get back to that point.

I'm kind of depressed about it in all honesty. Playing the guitar just reminds me of what I'd rather be doing, but I just don't have the time or money to do it anymore.

2. Zado

Zado Member

Yep, that's why I play with people, and when I play at home I'm learning songs or improving technique and playing. You need a goal.

3. Shepard man

Shepard man Member

I go through phases. Right now I'm enjoying the acoustic more but I know that the electric itch will come calling again. I'm also always trying to learn new material so maybe that's why.

Billy Van Beck likes this.
  4. spencer096

spencer096 Member

so leave your job and family.

[​IMG]

5. Shades of Blue

HA! I laughed at that one!

sonic1974 and spencer096 like this.
  6. Shades of Blue