Heatley vs Driskill

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by BigBone, Jan 1, 2006.

1. BigBone

BigBone Member

Im thinking of ordering one of these guitars. Is there anyone whose been lucky enough to have played both, and willing to compare? thank-you

2. tradarama

tradarama www.PRIMEGUITARS.com Silver Supporting Member

I have had several Driskills and have to say that they are outstanding. I think their finishes and tops are unbelievable. The playability is very nice. I found them to be a tad on the heavy side of the boutique builder guitars I've owned (probably because of the metal pickup rings etc). I thought the tone was very good and overall fantastic instruments worthy of consideration.

My Heatley, was something I got in a trade and expected to "lose" immediately. I started playing it and never put it down. The wood neck bindings, the awesome neck, the fact that it plays like it's broken in...its tone is fat and it sustains forever. I just love my Heatley. I was told it was the one on the front page of his old website...never saw it. I knew nothing about them and tried my best to hate it...but just can't part with it. I love the thing....My Stevens comes very close to having that same appeal to me. I just ordered a 6 string Stevens this week.

3. aleclee

aleclee TGP Tech Wrangler Staff Member

Though you wouldn't go wrong with any of the luthiers in this photo (Driskill, Heatly, Thorn), it boils down to personal preference which might be better for you. :)

[​IMG]

4. DrPCR

DrPCR Member

I have played both and I own 3 Driskills, and unfortunately I don't have a Heatley yet. I have been lucky to have gone to both shops and spend time with both great luthiers. Funny thing for me is that, Joe is DFW where my sis lives, and Scott lives 5 min from my brother in law. So I get to visit them when I visit family.