Hello...New here from western PA

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by bsteff666, Oct 26, 2008.

1. bsteff666

bsteff666 Member

Beaver, PA (That's just outside of Pittsburgh)
    Hello all. I've been meaning to get aboard here for a while. I did get signed up a month or two ago...but I'm finally getting around to an introduction.

My name is Brian & I am from western PA...just outside of Pittsburgh (Beaver County actually). I have been playing in bands for over 20 years...and have been obsessed with guitars for even longer.

I grew up in the 1980's so early on I was really into a lot of the 80's guitars...particularly Charvels (the good ones...the early ones...particularly the strat-headstocked variety)...I still am a big Charvel guy (I've recognized a few folks here that I know from some of the Charvel forums)...but I am really into lots of other guitars too...Gibsons, Gretsches, Fenders...you name it...all of them...

I don't consider myself a guitar collector. I play them. That is what they are for......but I do always have a lot of guitars around. I currently own around 60 guitars...mainly because I tend to do more buying & not enough selling. (I'm sure many of you can relate.)

I joined a rockabilly/punk sort of band early this year...so that has really gotten me into playing the Gretsches a bit...but in the last couple of months...I bought a Fender Tele to record with (haven't had a Tele in a few years)...and I am really feeling drawn to Teles currently (I see this becoming my latest obsession.)

For those interested...you can see pics of my guitars here:
    www.myspace.com/bsteff666

And you can check out the band here:
    www.myspace.com/thosepoordevils

I'm looking forward to learning from my fellow gearheads here at The Gear Page, & I hope I can contribute something here too.

Just for the hell of it...here are some pics of some guitars I enjoy.

My Gretsches
    [​IMG]
    My Justin Sain metaltops
    [​IMG]
    My GMP Roxie
    [​IMG]