Help a fuzz noob out

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Philywilly33, Feb 11, 2012.

1. Philywilly33

Philywilly33 Member

Hey guys i just sold my distortion pedal on the flea bay for 350$ and I've never tried a fuzz before and i thought it would be pretty sweet. I'm looking for something that sounds sweet with hum buckers. Right now I'm thinking maybe Bonamassa fuzz face or maybe some kind of full tone fuzz but those r just some ideas. What should i get and why?

2. Philywilly33

Philywilly33 Member

Also i play through a dirty marshall so it would drive that.

3. jnepo1

jnepo1 Silver Supporting Member

Basic Audio Scarab Deluxe. You want something that is very versatile. With so many types of fuzz out there, something that is tweakable is a good way to start. The Scarab cat get you from OD-distortion-heavy fuzz. There is a bias and a fat knob that can give you many tonal possibilities. PM me if interested.

4. pdodge77

pdodge77 Supporting Member

5. wundergussy

wundergussy Member

Tonebender, MKII type into a dirty Marshall has always been a good thing. There are many out there, but the Throbak Stonebender is nice and can be had relatively cheap used.

6. Chandyland

Chandyland Member

What kind of music do you like to play? If you want one to sound "sweet," I would go with the Skreddy Lunar Module Mini Deluxe. If you want nasty, I actually went with the Earthquaker Devices Dirt Transmitter. I also plan to get a Hoof soon, which is a bit smoother. Death by Audio makes some crazy stuff, too. Of course, there's always a standard Fuzz Face, but for that sound, people always give the Analogman Sun Face high marks.

It all depends on what you want to play.

7. Zounds Perspex

Zounds Perspex Supporting Member

with a Marshall and 'buckers, have you investigated the world of treble boosters?
    I've found them to work much better with that kind of set-up,
    and dudes like Tony Iommi and Marc Bolan would swear by 'em.