Help a Struggling Guitar Player!

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by ibanez4life SZ!, Aug 5, 2008.

1. ibanez4life SZ!

ibanez4life SZ! Member

Hey guys!

There are a lot of knowledgeable and respectable musicians on this site, so I'd really appreciate some input and advice :AOK

I've been playing for about 3.5 years now. I LOVE guitar. I consider myself a decent player...I'm play cleanly, and with some soul...or I hope :p

Anyways, I've always found my weakness to be in lead playing.

The root of this, I would guess, is my lack of guitar theory. I am completely self taught. Scales, keys, etc., I know nothing of. When it comes to lead, I try to find stuff that sounds good, but in general, I get lost on the fretboard, and find myself doing the same things over and over.

So, I would really appreciate some advice on how to jump over this hurtle. Any good site, books, and just advice you your guys, on where to start on being a more knowledgeable player?

Basically, I believe it would help me to know WHY I'm doing what I'm doing on the fretbaord.

Really appreciate your help guys. Rock on :dude

2. donostia13

donostia13 Member

You should definitely spend some time concentrating on music without a guitar in your hand. There are plenty of resources online to introduce basic music theory to you; try applying some basic ideas yourself when you think you've gotten the basic conceptual idea by recording yourself, say playing a certain modal scale over a particular chord.

Challenge yourself to break down the structure of chords you think you know as well--your hands might be able to make the shape of many chords on the fretboard, but can you really identify each note? Start with basic open chords, and call out each note (ex: Cmajor is C...E third...Gfifth, etc). This really helps you to "see" chord and the logic behind the hand position.

The more time you put into it, the better you'll be...good luck :AOK

3. donostia13

donostia13 Member