Help an old timer build a rack please!

datguytim

Silver Supporting Member
I've been playing for over 40 years - most of 'em professionally, and have seen all the trends come and go....and I'm finally ready to build a Rack Rig! Always wanted to, dabbled weakly in the waters back in the early '90s, but to no avail. I'm now ready to take the plunge!

SO - I plan on getting a Tube Power Amp, a good Preamp, and 1 or 2 nice Rack Effects (PCM 80/81, Eventide Eclipse most likely). What else is needed to get the most out of this set up? Do I need a Switchblade 8 AND a Mixer (Rane, Samson, etc.) or do I just need a Mixer ? If I'm running only 1 processor in the rig, can I get away with just a Mixer? I'm open to opinions and ideas - and any other tips or gear essentials to maximize the rig. Much appreciated!!

LPVM

If you're using only 1 preamp with 1 or 2 effects units there's no need for a switcher, a mixer will tie it all together. The Samson SM10 mixer has 8 channels you can run your stuff to (1 channel for the premap & 1 each for the effects units unless you want to split L & R outputs to their own dedicated channels and pan them hard L & R). Whatever the case that's either 3 channels or a max of 5 channels so the mixer will have capacity for future rack mounted additions or pedals if you want to add some of those too. You can change effects patches via midi so a midi pedal would be a good addition. Other than a rack power strip that will cover everything you need.

Jerrod

Gold Supporting Member