HELP! Ditto X2 or Boss RC-30

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Davy Danger, Feb 9, 2015.

1. Davy Danger

Davy Danger Member

I'm a beginner/intermediate guitar player who has been wanting a looper for a while. I actually want the Ditto X2. The reason: from all the research I've done, and all the YouTube videos I've watched, it is superior in sound quality - SPECIFICALLY WHEN PLAYING ELECTRIC GUITAR WITH DISTORTION. I see there are hardly any videos posted that show the RC-30 in use with electrical sounds. Simplicity is nice, but I prefer sound quality. But the RC-30 seems to have a lot of features. Yet, I've read that the sound with distorted guitar is bad, and can get worse with layers upon layers of looping. Can anyone fill me in?

2. kiki_90291

kiki_90291 Member

I never had any issues with the sound quality on the RC-30 - I did wind up selling mine, but more because I wasn't using it much. Very easy to use, but lots of deep capabilities if you want to dive into it.

3. mrmxyzptlk

mrmxyzptlk Member

Are you talking about using amp distortion, or pedal distortion?

If you mean the former, this will compromise the sound of any looper, not just the RC-30. Everything you record - the initial loop and all overdubs - will be distorted, quickly resulting in a muddy mess.

If you mean the latter, you still probably shouldn't use distortion on every overdub, particularly if you're creating a dense loop with numerous overdubs. As with any recording, your best bet is to vary the sound of your guitar from overdub to overdub, rather than using the same effects and eq on every part, and to be conscious of creating a varied sonic landscape with a combination of clean and distorted sounds.

4. Social Exodus

Social Exodus Lone Wolf