help - grounding problem maybe? soldering George L's into my board

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by awaywardson, Sep 10, 2008.

1. awaywardson

awaywardson Member

i've been using George L's in my pedalboard for a couple of years, with no problems. i recently upgraded from a flat piece of plywood to a Trailer Trash board. ( i know, i was SO stoked when i unwrapped it...) anyway, i ordered some locking connectors and proceded to hardwire everything into my board. i tested each solder job and everyone of them was noiseless and wonderfull (made the right noise, you know what i mean.) So, i get the board all ready, and i get this AWFUL racket when i power everything up and turn my amp on. I immediately checked my signal chain and power supplies, everything was right, so I started trying to isolate the problem. I can't find a single problem individually. But i get this awful loud humming/roar when i turn it on. So i'm confused now. Do you think i need to somehow ground the locking connectors to each other? shouldn't they be grounded to the board? ugh. all that work...

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. mike@nortoncable.com

mike@nortoncable.com Member

did you get any guitar sound out of it at all? or just Hum & Noise.

3. awaywardson

awaywardson Member

guitar sound is audible, but the hum and noise almost completely drown it out. makes me shiver even thinking about it.

4. awaywardson

awaywardson Member

maybe i'm not getting that great of a connection somewhere with the George L's (which have never failed me 'til now.) the Lava Cables solderless kit looks tempting, but can i solder them to the locking connectors on the side(s) of my board?

5. meterman

meterman Member

sounds like you have a bad ground in one of your GL right angle plugs. When that would happen to me I'd get this obnoxiously loud buzz/hum that overpowered any signal and I couldn't shut the amp down fast enough. Check to make sure all the caps are tight first...