Help,I discovered i'm rhythmically deficient

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by skydawg, Apr 30, 2008.

1. skydawg

skydawg Member

Well all those years in in jam oriented blues bands has left me so deficient in my proper musical understanding and rhythmic execution.I've been playing for over 20 years,took lessons and tried to learn music the formal way but was lazy and took the easy path and simply learned to jam like most rock and blues guitarists do.Well i thought i was a pretty good player but after joining my current band it has shown me my glaringly obvious deficiencies.The band i'm in now does a lot of soul,old school R&B and jazz.all stuff that requires a pretty good understanding of rhythm and how to count.i have a rudimentary understanding of counting but i get lost and loose it becasue i'm used to just kind of jamming.well that don't cut it,i need to start getting on track and getting a better understanding of rhythm and how to count and all that.I know i kind of need to go back to basics but how should i go about it?yes i can read music,at least i know what the notes and have a basic knowledge of how to long to hold each beat but i couldn't at this stage get through a piece of music very well at all.what would you suggest?

2. derekd

derekd Supporting Member

I am sure others will have good suggestions, but 2 things come to mind immediately. First is to get a rudimentary reading book out and just clap out the time and subdivisions until that becomes easy.

Second thing is working the above and other stuff with a metronome. I spend a bunch of time working with band in a box, which helps me with time.

3. ndemattheis

ndemattheis Member