Help: I've never worked on an amp, but I'm going to attempt to bias my amp safely.

SonexReducer

Hi,

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to the guts of an amplifier. I've watched several youtube videos on biasing an amp and it all seems very simple but I have a few questions about tools and safety.

People are suggesting I put one hand in my pocket while adjusting the bias pot / near the open chassis. What are the potential risks if I follow this advise?

I would like a Bias Master type tool. I would like to check 6L6's, 6V6's, KT66's. Does it check these tube types?

Also, The Bias Master is out of my budget. Is there something similar available that is reliable and priced a bit lower?

I live in a remote part of the country now and before it was very easy to have somebody just take a peek at my amps, but that is no longer an option.

I appreciate you guys being here, for I don't want to just poke around a mine field blindly.

EDIT:

So I went ahead and ordered a bias probe called the pro one from eurotubes. It measures both the plate voltage and tube output. You can play and bias at the same time. Its a cakewalk to use and I ended up biasing it "cold" at 31. Just above 50%.

Here's me in action biasing for the first time:

SAM_0416_zpsr80frmfm.jpg

Last edited:
M

Member 1963

The best and easiest way that safe too is to remove each power tube's cathode from ground then solder a a 1 ohm (yes, ONE ohm) resistor from each cathode to ground. The you can read the voltage between ground and the cathode, and because they are only separated by 1 ohm you will get a reading in milliamps which due to the 1 ohm resistor, when you do the math translates exactly to the current drawn. EG: 30 millivolts means the tube is drawing 30 milliamps.