Help me Better my playing Please

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by Static111, Feb 11, 2006.

1. Static111

Static111 Member

Hi

I'm new here and joined to help improve my technique and get some wisdom from older and younger players who are more advanced than I am. Basically I have been playing since I was about 17...23 now and went the self taught no lessons route, as I am best at learning from books.

I'm currently in the market for some good texts, or dvds on improving ability and musical knowledge as far as rhythym playing goes. I'd say now that I'm above average, but I would really like to bring my playing level up. I play both acoustic and electric, and any help would be appreciated

And if style has any concern in recommendations my main influences are Nels Cline, Marc Ribot, Keith Richards and neil young
    Thanks

2. KRosser

KRosser Member

Interesting set of influences. I'm pretty sure Young and Richards are self-taught. I know Richards is a very self-schooled player, in that he's taught himself tons of music over the years in a number of genres. I think Young's playing has mostly revolved around his writing, though he's definitely got an amazing voice on the electric guitar no matter who's music he's playing. Nels Cline I know very well, he's a self-schooled player as well with an amazing ear. Ribot was formally trained as a classical guitarist, and if I'm not mistaken, a jazz guitarist as well. But again, he's another person like Richards and Cline that have cobbled together a very unique voice by closely studying a very eclectic assortment of music that interested them. I like all those guys a lot, Ribot is a big influence on me in particular, and Nels has been a friend of mine for a long time, and consequently has been big influence as well.