1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Help Me Choose a Keyboard

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Hoodster, Feb 19, 2009.

1. Hoodster

Hoodster Member

Okay, I'm new to recording and am just getting used to GarageBand, but I think I want to add a keyboard. I want something affordable, compact, and easy to figure out. No need for lots of bells and whistles (GarageBand has plenty!).

I would prefer a model that can also serve as an "audio interface" for guitar and microphone, with headphone jack.

If the keyboard also had the ability to be used in a live band application (i.e. plugged into a PA or amplifier), that would be icing on the cake.

2. Rusty G.

Rusty G. Member

By keyboard, I'm assuming that you're looking for something that looks like a piano with black and white keys and not a new keyboard for your computer for recording (Like a new ProTools keyboard).

If that's what you're looking for, check out the USB keyboards from Sweetwater.

http://www.sweetwater.com/shop/keyboards/keyboard-controllers/

You'll need to determine how many keys you want and what features you're looking for. I suggested USB, because you won't need an interface, either midi or analog to be able to record your ideas. Problem with keyboard "CONTROLLERS" is that they don't make any sounds on their own (unless you're throwing them on the ground because you can't get anything to work. . .but that's another thread). You'll need to get your sounds from the "soft synths" or samples that you'll purchase to go in your computer. Welcome to the not so inexpensive world of trying to record something. . .

Now, you probably not going to be able to plug in a guitar or microphone through your keyboard, and I don't believe something like that even exists. . .at least, not in my experience.

Good luck!

3. meterman

meterman Member