Help me choose an in-ear system

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by mac7ry, Mar 2, 2012.

1. mac7ry

mac7ry Member

I am an amateur performer. I usually play at churches here and there. I would like to purchase an in-ear monitor system for myself. Since I play at different places I'd like for it to be wireless. I can't imagine a wired system would be very practical since I'd have to move it every time I play out somewhere. I could be wrong but...thats why I'm asking folks with experience.

Now, since I am not a pro I have limited funds to throw at this little project. I know that you usually get what you pay for but I'd like to be able to find a system of quality for under $500 used. I might be dreaming, but i figured I'd ask. I am just looking for a single person. I have no need for the system to be expandable. I've heard that purchasing quality, molded ear buds can also make a huge difference. Please help with input with any of the aforementioned points.

• Which system
    • Wired or Wireless?
    • Buy seperate, molded ear buds?

Any and all helpful information is greatly appreciated!

Last edited: Mar 3, 2012
  2. Boleary2

Boleary2 Supporting Member

hardwired is a bit of a hassle...hard to deal with if you move at all...even just standing...not comfy.

hard to find much good in the sub $500 range...especially for the transmitter/receiver and earbuds. I would look for a used Sennheiser 300 series (make sure you do not buy anything in the 700 mhz range as it is now illegal to operate in that space because it is reserved for digital TV stations).

For ears I would recommend Westone UM2 or Fidelity molds. Westone's are around $250-270 or so and the fidelity molds will run in the low to mid $300's after audiologist visit for molds.

3. rickenbackerkid

rickenbackerkid Member

I have a Sennhseiser G2 system - it was about $500 second hand and has served me well for a few years with zero issues and not a single dropout.