1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Help me decide - combo vs. head+cab

Discussion in 'Bass Area; The Bottom Line' started by fishman919, Oct 12, 2017.

1. fishman919

fishman919 Supporting Member

I've been learning on bass for a couple of months (primarily a guitar player) and I'm ready for my first amp. My needs are pretty basic, practice plus light gigging. I don't want anything huge but I would like to be able to handle a small-medium area. My budget is $500.

Locally I've found a Peavey Headliner 210 cab and a SWR Workingman's 15 cab, each for a pretty good price. I think either would be sufficient for size but a little heavy. My local GC has a used TC BH250 which seems to work and sound fine. Or I could go with a different mini head (Rumble 200, GB, etc.)

In combos I really like the Rumble's, specifically the 200. My local GC also has the TC BG250 210 which sounds good, but there are lots of reported reliability issues on the TC bass products. I think they've had this one on the floor for a while. My local mom and pop has a couple of Peavey Max's in stock (112 and 115) but I haven't tried those.

I'm mostly looking for feedback on the two cabs above (with or without the BH250), or feedback on the BG250. Other options are welcome also.

Thanks,

2. FuzzFacetious

FuzzFacetious Member

Rumble combos are great.

3. Endr_rpm

Endr_rpm Member