• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

HELP ME DECIDE: First Tele- Custom Shop Fender or Assemble from Parts?

skhan007

Silver Supporting Member
Hey Guys,

I've been playing for 29 years and have never owned a tele. I've taken an interest in them and have played dozens at my local stores and have decided I'd like to get an Esquire for starters.

Below is the photo that really got my blood pumping for an Esquire. These are the 2008 Custom Shop top bound Fender Esquires. 100 made in 14 different 50's colors. They are roughly $3K each. I could hold out and try to find a used one or one on clearance somewhere...

If I buy the "real deal" that's a lot of coin, but I will have a legit guitar that if I had to sell in the future, would have better resale than a parts guitar...

But there are so much savings in a parts guitar built from the RIGHT parts (quality bodies & necks made and finished by reputable builders). I could assemble one for 1/2 the price of the custom shop Esquire...and end up with virtually the same thing.

PLEASE HELP ME DECIDE!! :huh Thanks in advance.

Southerntwang

I highly endorse the Fender Custom Shop Tele's. Even at $3K they are amazing guitars. The Custom Shop really takes pains with their products. They truly feel like a handmade instrument.

tone?