1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Help me find this amp.......

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by troublehead, May 18, 2005.

1. troublehead

troublehead Member

I've been hopping around over in the HC forum for a couple of years. I've owned numerous high gain head including Marshalls, Peaveys, ENGLS, Splawn, Mesa, Randall (you get the picture). Since I'm no longer gigging, I can't justify having 50-100 watt heads and 4x12's sitting in my house. I'm also 35 years old now and it seems my taste in "Gain" has changed. I really want to scale down to a good low-wattage head and a 2x12. Something I can throw pedals at to get some different tones. I really like "darker" amps. I would prefer something with a good clean up to early VH-ish type gain. However, I want to be able to kick it into metal territory with a good Overdrive. Effects loop is a must. These amps have sparked my interest: Bad Cat Hot Cat, Budda Superdrive, various Cornford amps. However, there is nowhere to play them around here. Throw some amps out there for me and tell me what I need. Thanks.

2. trisonic

trisonic Member

Take a look at the Sommatone "Roaring 20" and the Reinhardt 18 Watters.

Do a search for both names on here. Plenty of discussion in the past.

Best, Pete.

3. riverastoasters

riverastoasters Member

You will probably want to lose the 412s. It might not be necessary to lose the amps you already like though. If you have the sort of amps that can do preamp out and not need to return the signal to the power amp then maybe you just want a low powered power amp.

But if you do want new amps then these are the ones that make sense from my personal experience.