Help me on this EQ(?) tone quest guys..

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by DanHorse, Mar 24, 2015.

1. DanHorse

DanHorse Member

Right, I have always loved a particular tone on the neck pickup, i can only define as squealy, harmonic, loads of presence in the pick attack range,upper minds (im no expert though), yet still retains the bell like tone above the 12th fret.

Listen to this track, what i am talking about is around 3:53 mins, and here that note right on 3:59? Exactly what i want but can never get with my gear.

So, im guessing EQ is the issue here? What really gets that mids character, boosting certain frequencies in the upper mids? And is it possible to get ballparked by using an EQ pedal (parametric im guessing?).

Any help much appreciated ;)

2. Chris McKinley

Chris McKinley Member

Compression is a big part there, both amp tubes and studio comp. Miking technique, types of pickups, etc. It's not all that hard to get that sound ballpark, but getting the nuances can be a matter of a surprising number of factors.

What pickups are you using? What amp? Settings? Any pedals? If so, what kind/settings, etc.?

3. DanHorse

DanHorse Member

Thanks for your reply Chris.

I probably have all the wrong gear! Orange TT, various guitars, tele, PRS clone, Fender Pawn Shop 72 and Ibanez SA. Pedals, Dyna Comp, BYOC Shredder, TS808, BD-2, only thing that gets anywhere near that tone is using a wah left toe down and the top end dialled out on the shredder.

Ive heard people get this tone with simple rigs, lavish rigs, so was assuming EQ, pickups to amp mostly? But yeah many things make up the nuance. This guy is using an Axe FX with a strat. Another chap gets similar using AxeFx 5150 with a Musicman JP with liquifire pickup.

4. DaveKS

DaveKS Member