Help me pick an amp!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by semi hollaback, Feb 29, 2012.

1. semi hollaback

semi hollaback Member

Here's where I'm at: I play a semi hollow PRS.. a pretty dark guitar that can be finicky between getting amp settings that agree with all 3 pickups, and also at getting smooth OD tones that aren't "fizzy." I play primarily funk/rnb/soul/hip hop, but I'm a professional and end up playing everything. I currently have a blues deluxe reissue and its just terrible in every way possible.

I'm trying to spend between $1000-2000.. I'd be happy with a clean channel that would take my BB preamp and not make it fizzy, but having multiple functional channels would be cool too. Pretty much my 3 main tones are-- clean, little bit of crunch (scofield/krasno tone) and sustaining smooth lead (trey).

So far I've tried: mesa express 5:50-- thought the cleans were really good, OD channel was really harsh.. didn't agree with my guitar at all. Returned it.

Lonestar classic: sounds pretty good to me, didn't get a chance to really try it with pedals in front.. but its pretty heavy and I have an intense tour schedule this summer that I'm not looking forward to hauling this around for.. but I will if it results in the best tone.

Silverface Vibrolux (forget the year).. Really enjoyed the clean tone.. definitely bright and favors my neck pickup but it was nice-- but the OD sound was "fizzy" and I'm not sure these have a lot of headroom.

Tone King Imperial-- cleans were solid, not the tightest bass compared to LSC, but this is the only amp I've tried that resulted in smooth OD with pedals in front.. no "hair" or "fizz" which has been driving me crazy.

Other things on my radar that I haven't tried.. Fender twin, Dr Z maz sr, divided by 13 (only local dealership that sells these are out)