Help me pick my first monitors

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Gigbag, Jan 22, 2008.

1. Gigbag

Gigbag Member

I am getting a digital multitrack and would like to get active monitors for home studio recording of my own music. I have always used headphone in the past, and I am just getting into this again after years of not recording.

I have $300 to spend and am considering the following:

KRK RP5 Rockit, $298 pr

Behringer B2030A, $279 pr

Alesis M1 Active 520, $199 pr

Any comments or other suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

2. meterman

meterman Supporting Member

3. bchamorro

bchamorro Member

4. Zero Point

Zero Point Member

In my opinon the order of awesome-ness in monitors go in this order:

ATC SCM-150A SL(I think they are $20k a pair ;) ) They aren't near-field but who cares I have to mention them ;) I want a pair so bad... maybe if I win the lotto...

Near-Fields: Genelec, JBL, KRK, Mackie, Yamaha ... in that order of manufacturers.

-ZP

5. Gigbag

Gigbag Member

Yes, I read that thread yesterday. Thanks. I couldn't find the KRKs as cheap as $200, but I liked the features. I will probably go with those since I can't spend $20,000.

6. retro

retro Member

I've had to use the KRK RP5's for several months now on a project in several different rooms and they are quite difficult to work with for me.

I know this is subjective.

But I certainly would not recommend them...

I know Warren Dent is a fan of the Tascam of VL-X5's, don't know if they are still available or if the new VL-A5's are in the same league. The X5's are still listed at:

http://www.frontendaudio.com/Tascam_VL_X5_Active_Monitors_Pair_p/8062.htm

A friend has them and I certainly understand Warren's enthusiasm for them compared to the RP5's.

7. Gigbag

Gigbag Member

Thanks Retro. Maybe I will look a little more.

8. melondaoust

melondaoust Member

+1 for the RP5's - love my set!

9. DualRectifier

DualRectifier Member

Pair of used Event TR8s.