Help Me Solve a Debate I Have With Someone About Tubes

Discussion in 'Home Audio (Stereo Systems)' started by elixRx66, Oct 13, 2018.

1. elixRx66

elixRx66 Member

ive been playing guitar for over 20 years and have pretty much always used tube amps for all the reasons we all know to be true about them and playing guitar through them. Not too long ago my sister started getting into listening and collecting old vinyl. To say she is into it is putting it mildly. Now that she has her new turntable she has all of the sudden gotten obsessed with tubes and getting a tube preamp for her record player. I told her that was stupid because the same things that make tube amps so great when playing guitar through them would make them bad for listening to music through. For example as a guitar player you want your tubes pushed to saturation so you can get that tube distortion but when you are listening to music any distortion whatsoever (coming from your system) is unwanted. You want to cleanest and clearest reproduction of the sound correct? It might make your music sound a little warmer but I just can’t see the benefits to using tube amps when listening to music. Who is right and who is wrong and why exactly? Thank you.

2. Rod

Rod Tone is Paramount Supporting Member

Oh, many of us still think Music sounds warmer, more natural ect when run through tube preamps, power amps ect.... your sister is right:)

MoarGear, dansworld, guff and 36 others like this.
  3. Hacksaw

Hacksaw Time Warped Gold Supporting Member

I vote for tube amps. There’s a warmth and color that’s added that I find very good.

4. dewey decibel

dewey decibel Supporting Member

we eat a lot of cheese and drink a lot of beer
    [​IMG]