Help me with my overdrive dilemma...

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by kevinsaari, Jan 3, 2008.

1. kevinsaari

kevinsaari Member

Hey guys. Everyone here is bonkers about overdrive pedals, so hopefully you can all collectively help me out. I rarely use any sort of dirt, but I need something sometimes. Right now on my board for dirt, I have a Fuzz Factory and Bad Monkey. The Bad Monkey is just there to fill my needs temporarily until I find something better.

Basically, I'm looking for something that doesn't color my tone. I want it to be clear and not have the blanket-over-the-amp sound. I want something that is touch-sensitive/dynamic and low gain. I hear everyone raving about the Eternity and Timmy and all those, but I'm not sure the differences, to be honest.

I'm willing to spend up to around $250 or so, but I'd rather spend a little less if possible. I'm a college student with not much money to throw around.

Thanks guys.

2. LowWatt

LowWatt Member

Different ODs tend to work better with different set ups.

What are you using for guitars and amps?
    What style of music do you like to play?

3. kevinsaari

kevinsaari Member

My main guitar is a Dual Pickup Melody Maker. I play through a Traynor YBA-1 and Avatar 2x12. (Sometimes using a Valve Junior for home jamming.)

The music I play is I guess what you'd call "ambient", although I dislike that term. Solo guitar work with looping and stuff. Sort of similar to Gregor Samsa, if you have heard them.

4. therhodeo

therhodeo Member

NOC3 Pure Drive would fit what you want nicely.

5. Aruntang

Aruntang Member

Check out the Maxon VOP-9. It's touch sensitive, big and open sounding, and very natural. Killer deal for $200. The Eternity is great but I really feel you need a buffer or a pedal with a good buffer right after it to open the pedal up. The Eternity is still great without the buffer infront of it, but it will sound darker overall.

6. thiscalltoarms