Help me!

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by makethemost, Feb 15, 2009.

1. makethemost

makethemost Member

Excuse me if this post is rather convoluted. That's how my thoughts are!

I've been playing for a couple years, but just now am wanting to you know... develop style. I can run the pentatonic scales up and down, but how do I incorporate them? How do I play something worth playing?

Again, this isn't just limited to Pentatonic scales, that's just an example. What do I do to get better?

Do you have any help? Any advice?

2. Ooogie

Ooogie Member

Listen to the music you love and pay attention to the phrasing, really listen to their note choices, melodies, licks and how they play over the changes. It's all about the phrasing, scales are just exercises to learn the notes...running up and down scales really doesn't have any musical value.

Mark

3. The Captain

The Captain Supporting Member

Stop learning scales and learn some music.

4. derekd

derekd Supporting Member

Take some easy solos and transcribe them. That is, learn them note for note and especially paying attention to the phrasing. There are tools out there to assist with this, such as The Amazing Slow Downer software.

You will get more milage out of this than just about anything else. Good luck.

5. Jon

Jon Member

+1 on the previous advice.

All the great improvisers seem to have gone through a period of learning other players' solos note-for-note. I think you have to go through this process to build a vocabulary - otherwise it's like having a basic understanding of grammar and wondering why you can't write a great novel. It takes A LOT of practice AND thought to become a great player and no-one can do it for you. There are no great internet resources, transcription books or DVDs that anyone here can point you to that will make it happen - only YOU can make it happen with lots of hard work learning other people's solos and guitar parts from CDs.