Help - New Amp Build - AC Voltage on B+

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by seedlings, Mar 20, 2008.

1. seedlings

seedlings Member

On this amp build I'm getting 386VDC coming off the rectifier, as I expected, but also seeing about 700V on the AC setting with either meter I have.

I started with the 5Y3GT, but the AC was there, so I switched out to diodes, and thought the problem was gone because the amp played, but the AC is still there, so I'm stumped.

To be clear (since I'm still learning), each lead of the secondary is soldered to a diode, then those diodes come together for the bridge. At that point, with or without any further wiring, there is 386VDC as well as about 700VAC.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

CHAD
    [​IMG]

2. seedlings

seedlings Member

I switched from the 340-0-340 to the 170-0-170 winding and now there is 160VDC and 351VAC coming off the rectifier.

And this is weird, too: the voltmeter neg lead to ground reads 351VAC, but reversing the leads (red to ground, black to rectifier) there's 0VAC?!?

Oh, and I've removed the voltage regulator portion of the circuit until this is straightened out.

CHAD

3. Lanesplitter

Lanesplitter Member

This is a wild guess, so listen at your own risk...

The node you're measuring has huge current spikes passing through it to charge the capacitors. Perhaps the current spikes mess with the way the meter measures AC?

4. phsyconoodler

phsyconoodler Member

When you put AC voltage through a rectifier it turns the AC into Pulsing DC current.What your meter is telling you is that the two 386v windings together add up to about 700v AC.The AC voltage is not what you need to worry about.
    Try measuring other high voltage DC elsewhere in the amp.You'll find you get a reading with your meter on the AC setting as well.