Help playing Chet Atkins

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by somecafone, Jun 13, 2006.

1. somecafone

somecafone Member

I bought a Chet Atkins transcription book, and I can't get past the first four measures of "Mr. Sandman."

Any suggestions?

2. clothwiring

clothwiring Supporting Member

Slow down and take time, do a little each day. You'll get it. I work with a guy who's great at Atkins style...while I'm a novice at it...I just work the lines over and over that I need to learn for our songs. Once I'm there I'm golden.

3. Kappy

Kappy Member

I think beginner to intermediate travis picking and classical exercises/etudes will help you to approach Chet's fingerstyle playing. Otherwise, just look for somewhat repetetive picking patterns b/c he's probably doing something out of a travis style picking approach during most of that song.

4. shigihara

shigihara Member

5. rgsss14

rgsss14 Gold Supporting Member

This may seem unorthodox -

Some people say practice the bass separately and the melody line separately, then splice the two together.

I always viewed the two as being integrated - take it measure by measure and play the two parts together, using your ear to guide the way....

6. rhp52

rhp52 Supporting Member

Pay close attention to the feel Chet gets (to all his playing). The rock steady bass line against the syncopation of the other notes in the pattern.This is the difference between just playing the notes and having a bouncy, syncopated and dynamic result. IMHO this applies to all chord/melody-fingerpicking except where uncalled for. I found this very subtle and was somewhat difficult to achieve the desired effect. Chets right hand is equal to his left. Hope this helps!

7. gennation

gennation Member

Are you also listening to the tune? Depending on what level you read music at you may just need some direction. If don't read music and are only reading the tab or something, then definitely include the recording while learning it.