Help Understanding Impulse Response and Cab Emulators (repost from Lounge forum)

mrspag

So I'm kind of new to the world of modern day multieffects processors. I bought a Boss GT100 last year and it has replaced my pedal board live. I love it. I run it straight into a peavey tube amp or an ac30 depending upon the size of the venue into the send return. I find that I like setting the gt100 output to direct so that I get the speaker emulation with the preamp. As we are now playing larger venues and are mixing everything I'm interested in running it direct. I know from running the gt100 direct into the small board and PA in the practice space we have and, also from runnning it direct with headphones, that it doesn't sound as good as running into a tube amp. When I run it direct I go from the guitar cable mono out on the gt100 to the board with a guitar cable.

I was thinking of getting a passive DI box and then I ran across the Palmer PD 109 The Junction DI box. It seems to be better suited because it has an analog cab simulator. This of course caused me to research on the web and TGP and find out about the two note cab pedal, the amt Pangea, and the whole impulse response thing.

So, I'm really not sure where to go. What is the best solution for using the gt100 direct into a board for live or recording. I see that the more expensive effects like the helix and the ax8 have a balanced out and built in IR. Would using one of the standalone IR boxes or the Palmer DI and the gt100 be a similar solution? I'm really not sure which way to go. I don't mind spending money I just don't want to spend it on stuff I don't need. I really like the sounds I get from the gt100 and the preamps it has.

Multicellular