Help with my fender champ!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by serviviente7, Jul 23, 2008.

1. serviviente7

serviviente7 Supporting Member

Hello guys. I am looking for some help with my fender champ. My problem is that I have a lot of knowledge of guitars and pedals but I have knowledge of amps and speakers! My champ amp is either 60's or 70's and is the three button 6 watt 8" with Jesen speaker (i believe)version. I love that amp for practice and for recording! It sounds fantastic! Here is the thing. It is a little neglected and i will like to put it "up to date" sort of speak. The tubes are original, but the power is starting to "come and go" way too frequent. The original speaker sound very good but it has a little rupture on the baffle. If this were your amp what will you guys do? Will you change or fix the speaker and if so for which one? Will you change the tubes and if so for which one? What other update will you do to this gem?I can not stress enough how good this amp sounds. It is tone for days but it deserves better. I need to make it more reliable. Its just that I am not "technical" and amps are not my thing. Please be as specific and simple as you can. All help will be appreciated. Thanks so much!:BEER

2. cugel

cugel Member

i would give the amp a tune up w/ new caps and tubes etc
    there are only three tubes so you could even spring for some good NOS tubes esp teh 6v6 and also put some good caps in it too
    any reputable tech would love to work on this amp since it will take no time to do and it will be no problem
    i would defintly trash that speaker and get a WEBER alnico 8
    there are several to chose from and i like the hi power one for this circuit

3. serviviente7

Wow so i should pretty much forget about the stock speaker? The webers are that good?

4. mrface2112

mrface2112 Member