Help with pedal board

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Flick037, Feb 11, 2015.

1. Flick037

Flick037 Member

Hello, so I am new to wiring up a pedal board. I have most of the pedals I will use, with the exception of a few that I'm still trying to find a good price on. My question is: what are some tips for wiring everything up, and keeping it clean and straight?

2. jsytsma

jsytsma Member

Quality cables help keep things neat - I love Lava. They tuck in nicely and allow everything to fit well. Evidence audio has similar pedalboard kits, as does George L (I think).

If you're using a Pedaltrain, this always helps in the neatness department as you can tuck excess cable underneath.

A good power supply can help keep things sounding AND looking tidy. Again, if you can store the power supply under the board, it gives you the ability to feed the power through the brackets.

It's one of the most rewarding feelings after wiring up a board. I shifted a couple things in my board and took the opportunity to make everything looking good again and it's so satisfying :)

3. Drak

Drak Supporting Member

Pics of what you currently have would really help with advice.
    Right off the bat, I always recommend the best power supply you can afford that fits your setup.
    I like and use Cioks products myself but there are other good ones out there.
    Cheap or insufficient power supply is a typical board-starter trap. Don't let yourself get trapped.
    Are you going to use 5 or 15 pedals?
    Are you taking it out on the road or at-home only?
    Flat or wedge?
    Carrying handles?
    Stereo or Mono out?
    Do you have your chain already set up?
    Are you soldering your own cables or using solderless connectors?
    If you're assembling your own cables, Redco and Orange County Speaker are good places for cable and connector supplies.
    Don't try to line them up in order without your cables plugged in, it makes a difference spacewise.