Help with trem & block, is it or is it not steel?!

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by kitchyriccardo, Feb 27, 2009.

1. kitchyriccardo

kitchyriccardo Member

Hey people, I'm pretty new to the guitar parts and all and here too (so nice meeting you all), but I was just wondering about something. I ordered a wilkinson tremolo kit for my fender as a replacement and says what I ordered, it has stainless steel saddles and a solid steel block. But the thing is, if its a solid steel block, wouldn't a magnet stick to the block? (because it doesnt at all) and if its stainless steel saddles wouldn't the magnet not stick that much to them? (because it does like iron/steel). The block does seem pretty heavy and appear to look like steel in a way, but is there anyway to really tell or insight?. Im thinking it could be zinc or some other mixtures.Thanks.

2. dk123123dk

dk123123dk Member

Is the block coated with any chrome or anything? This could be why a magnet doesn't stick to the block. Wilkinson has licensed his parts, where did you purchase the trem? Perhaps its one of his licensed designs with less quality materials.

I say just install the sucker, and if it sounds good and works good, who cares what its made of?

dk

3. rockstarjay

rockstarjay Member

See if it sticks to the back of your amp speaker. It should be nearly ripped out of your hand. if it doesn't stick you've been ripped off and should return it.
    Wilkinson U.S.A. no longer makes their own bridges. They are licensed to a Japanese company called Gotoh and are now produced as Gotohs cheapie line in Korea.
    What bridge are you replacing? A real US fender bridge (AV or AmSe) goes for $70 online. Made in USA with real steel. A callham block for a mexi goes for $60. Much better options IMO, because without the block you've spent your money going sideways.

4. thesjkexperienc

thesjkexperienc ^^^ I made this guitar^^^ Supporting Member

5. schmit

schmit Member