Hey Luthiers, why do you do what you do? Pro/cons for direct vs dealer sales.

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by LTE, Feb 9, 2006.

1. LTE

LTE Member

Just wondering how you guys got into this game. Who do you look up to? Who do you think will carry the tourch on for the next generation?

Also, what made you decide to sell to dealers or direct? Meaning, what do you think are the advantages of your decision? What are the pitfalls?

Thanks for taking the time to answer this. I have respect for you all in this tough business.

2. Douglas Baines

Douglas Baines Member

I'm just getting into the game right now... At 18 I went to college for Electronics Engineering in Toronto. I quickly got scared out of my wits at the thought of doing TV repair or hooking up satellite dishes for the rest of my life. I dropped out after the 2nd of 4 semesters with the intent to go home, get a job, and start saving for lutherie school. That was two years ago.

I went to the Lado Lutherie School in Ontario and now I'm tooling up to start building in my home shop, with the intent to start building commercially once I get enough practice and confidence under my belt.

As far as looking up to someone... my teacher Joe Lado... Matt Artinger, David Myka, I really like Jack Briggs' work, and Saul Koll. I have a thing for Hofner and Framus as well. Jim Soloway is quite an inspiration too. He's built such a success so quickly. Smart too.

I think guitar builders can take inspiration from bass builders too. I really like the Benavente basses.

As much as people are hating Gibson these days, I'm really inspired by Orville Gibson. He really was an innovator in his time and I think I've wanted to put my hands on a Style-U Harp Guitar since I was about 14 or 15!

3. Scott French

Scott French Member