Hey Tele Thinline users...

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by sstweed, Jan 28, 2008.

1. sstweed

sstweed Supporting Member

I know this might belong in the guitar forum, but I am more interested in how it sounds through pedals and amps, than the guitar itself. I have never really looked at Thinlines before. As a "real" tele fan, I always just played the "classic" single coil tele (and lots of them!).

But I have been jonesing for something outside the Fender single coil realm of late. Something with humbuckers and NOT a Les Paul. I just happened to look at a new thinline at GC yesterday. It was on the floor on a guitar stand and caught my wifes eye, "F" hole, two Fender humbuckers, and that ugly pickguard, the whole she-bang. Holy cow, the guitar felt like it weighed about an ounce compared to a "real" tele! I could get into that, but I have no experience with those big Fender humbuckers (or the semi-hollow tele body), despite the fact that both me and Tele thinlines have been around for decades! Anyone have opinions about them one way or the other? Thanks

2. bluesmain

bluesmain Member

I have had mine for 3 years or so. It's a contrast in tone from my strats and very sweet sounding thru a jtm45ish amp. It also sounds great with my mark lll combo.

3. thefacelessnate

thefacelessnate Member

I have an American Thinline Semi Hollow and love it. I play it through an Orange Rockerverb 50 and typically run it through a Keeley Comp, Keeley Katana, Timmy and/or BD-2 Modded... I love it... such a different sound than a single coil. And when its delayed its a beaut... Definitely not a single coil sounding guitar. I definitely recommend the american over the mexican, mainly for the neck. Have fun!

4. dk_ace

dk_ace Member