High Frequency Hearing Loss & Tone?

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by Fndrbndr, Jan 30, 2015.

1. Fndrbndr

Fndrbndr Member

Like many of you, I've been a musician for decades...started out on the drums at age 14 and spent many hours bashing away on them with no hearing protection, and later switched to guitar. After all that and playing in numerous bands over the years - you guessed it - I've lost the ability to hear certain high frequencies.

No big deal, since I can pretty much hear normally otherwise, but I was wondering if any of you in the same situation end up dialing in your guitar rig too bright to compensate? I've had comments that my tone had too much highs in the past, but it sounded fine to me. Do you just dial things in to please your own ears or ask someone you trust to help you dial in a tone that's more pleasing to the audience?

2. RockManDan

RockManDan Member

ive played with quite a few old fellows who seem to have high frequency loss and make their tone ice-pick as a result. then again ive also played with quite a few young guys who make the mistake as well. and sound men. i think lots of people just don't mind excessive highs as long as they're the ones making them. but for everyone else its pain.

oh right, but you gotta 'cut through the mix'. i forgot.

3. Lucidology

Lucidology Member

Keep thinking I have hearing lose especially in my left ear...
    however when I clean it out ... there's so much dark wax matter it seems I can hear again.
    Yet, have to dig in there with that little scooper at least once a month,
    because it gathers back up and blocks my hearing so fast ...

4. pkevinb

pkevinb Member

I have hearing loss and wear hearing aids. I once dialed in and amp and got it just right. I plugged in the next day and the tone was gone, sounded all flat and bassy. Then I realized I didn't have my hearing aids in, and I couldn't get over how much I was missing and now always play with the hearing aids in.