home recording . . getting started

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by daveS, Jun 1, 2005.

1. daveS

daveS lefty dude on hiatus Gold Supporting Member

Between the San Andreas and Calaveras Faults
    I am looking to get started with a home recording setup. I have no experience with home recording nor do I have any gear.

I was thinking about picking up some Tascam stuff or Pro Tools . . or . . . ?

I want to record bass, guitar, vocals and drum machine tracks. . . basically lay down some simple originals.

Can anyone suggest what gear to get started with ?

Thanks in advance.

-d

2. GuitslingerTim

GuitslingerTim Member

If your goal is recording songs for the fun of it, a self-contained digital recorder with a built-in drum machine might be a viable choice. Most units also come with a mixer, preamps, and cd burner.

If the objective is creating quality pro level recordings, a computer is the best way to go, but it is also the most expensive, most frustrating, most complicated, and the most demanding option.

Typically you will need microphones, a microphone preamp, and a mixer. Those items are needed just to deliver sound to the computer so it can be recorded.

A reasonably fast computer with a compatible soundcard and multitracking software will also be necessary.

3. LSchefman

LSchefman Member

>>I want to record bass, guitar, vocals and drum machine tracks. . . basically lay down some simple originals.

Can anyone suggest what gear to get started with ?<<

Do you want to edit, and if so, in how much detail? Or do you prefer to just do another take until it's right?

Do you need MIDI capability? Will you want to synch the drum machine to the recorder, or will you just lay down drums on two tracks and record the other stuff after you've recorded drums?

Do you want to buy outboard gear, such as mic preamps, mixing channels, compressors, etc., or would you prefer the stuff built into a standalone unit?

How much do you want to spend?