Home recording question....what audio interface?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Rev2S, Jan 18, 2008.

1. Rev2S

Rev2S Member

Take a left on Hudgens Rd, then a right on....
    I have no experience in home recording but would like to get into it. I am looking for a decent audio interface around $150 for recording demo songs and to put down ideas for new songs. I was looking at the Lexicon Lambda, E-MU 0404, and M-Audio MobilePre. I am mainly looking to record guitar, piano, and bass tracks and probably use drum loops since I don't think drums will record very well over one of these devices. Any recommendations?

Thanks!

2. Wolf Static

Wolf Static Member

1. What OS are you running?
    2. How many tracks do you see yourself recording simultaneously?
    3. Do you need MIDI to run an external keyboard controller?

3. Rev2S

Rev2S Member

Take a left on Hudgens Rd, then a right on....
    -I am running Windows XP.
    -I plan on recording one track at a time.
    -I plan on using MIDI in the future for an external keyboard.

Thanks for your help!

4. tripp2k

tripp2k International Man of Leisure Silver Supporting Member

Same boat here. I have a work in progress where I have some functioning basics I recently put together. I'm using a Line 6 Toneport UX2, m-audio Axiom 49 keyboard and currently using the Ableton Live Lite that came with the keyboard (no saving allowed). I also got some m-audio BX5a monitors. I'm running all this on Windows XP.

It works. I have been able to lay down a drum, rythymn/lead guitar, key and vocal track that got the "hey this is cool but sounds pretty bad" response out of me. I can't save it to share so you would get an idea of what 'first pass' is by someone who doesn't have a clue how a recording studio works.