Home recording without a computer..?

Garnett

I record with a Boss Br 900 and I mic my amps with a sm57. I do all guitar and bass this way and add drums in with a drum machine. Outside of the drums, it actually sounds good as I have high quality amps. I know I could be doing a lot more with a computer but I'm not too good with them. Does anybody else record like this, or am I that out of date..?

Cheers!

jammybastard

"I'm losing my edge, but I was there..."
Gold Supporting Member
I record with a Boss Br 900 and I mic my amps with a sm57. I do all guitar and bass this way and add drums in with a drum machine. Outside of the drums, it actually sounds good as I have high quality amps. I know I could be doing a lot more with a computer but I'm not too good with them. Does anybody else record like this, or am I that out of date..?

Cheers!
Sure. Out of date? Who decides that?
It's all about what works for you and accomplishes your goals.
I still have a Tascam 424 four track cassette recorder from 1990 that I use from time to time.
Also got an iPad and a MacBook Pro.
I use them depending on what goal I'm trying to accomplish.

I know a lot of guys who still use the Roland VS-880 multitrack units as well as the Boss BR-1600.
They are easy to use and have a very unique sound.

Tame Impala's a very popular psychedelic band from Australia that currently use the BR1600.
Their first 2 records were recorded on a 1600 and they use them on tour
because they rely on the 1600s pitch shift effect for their guitar sound.
I'd say that's a pretty good endorsement.

Garnett