1. A proposal is now up as a poll to change the guidelines of TGP to only allow member self-deleting of post/threads for up to thirty days of the original posting it. We are now watching the poll here. Click here to view the thread.

Dismiss Notice

Hot Cat 30R head just arrived!!!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by lonetone483, May 18, 2011.

1. lonetone483

lonetone483 Member

Hey everybody and fellow bad cat owners, I just got my new Bad Cat Hot Cat 30R head about an hour ago. I've had GAS for one of these for some time now. I'm new to the the gear page forum and I've done quite a few searches on Bad Cat amps here but I was just wondering if I needed to know anything special, tricks or quirks about the hot cat? I've done some research on them and have read about the reverb and fx loop issues some of these amps have. I am a BIG delay user so this is the only thing that has me a bit worried as the loop system thats on this amp is not something I'm use to. (I'm use to the loops on Mesa amplifiers) The amp is dated 1-27-05 if that will shed any light on aything. It cames tubed up with pure JJ ECC83S's for preamps, JJGZ34 for the rectifier and Winged C EL34' for the power. No propriety footswitch jack on the rear panel but somehing that looks like it located under the chassy next to the rectifier tube. Maybe it was a early 30R model. Either way, I'm really excited to fire this bad boy up and I will take pics as soon as I can. Any feedback would be a great help. Thanx

2. arcguitaro

arcguitaro Member

Congrats on your new amp! I owned a Tone Cat a few years ago and I really miss it.

3. flcmcya

flcmcya Silver Supporting Member

Not sure about the issues you speak of but mine isn't leaving anytime soon.

Very versatile and unique amp that can cop most any tone!

Your tubes should work well with the amp...

Takes a little while to "learn" the controls....you can easily overdue it. ;)

4. 6AM

6AM Member