Hot Plate with a Bad Cat Black Cat?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by tlester, Oct 25, 2005.

1. tlester

tlester Member

Hey all -

Has anyone ever put a hot plate on a Bad Cat Black Cat before? I just aquired one and it has a master volume that can be bypassed. When bypassed, it sounds HUGE. But with it in and turned down, it thins out a bunch and gets raspy.

I'm wondering if a hotplate or something similar would work to get me that "big" sound without damaging anything.

Thoughts?

-Tom

PS. The manual warns against attenuators.

2. Cranknfrank

Cranknfrank Member

I've been playing my Wildcat for almost 5 years now and have been very happy with it. Mine has a "half power" switch on the back....check to see if yours does. I'm not a big fan of master volumes and I think the HP setting does help. Give it a shot.

3. tlester

tlester Member

Hi Crank -

How are you running your wild cat? It looks like it's the same as mine, but w/ EL34's. Are you running it with an ABY? Or are you just using one channel? Are you running it clean w/ pedals or dirty?

The Black Cat sounds awesome and will be rocking for studio stuff (which is primarily why I purchased it), but I'm trying to figure out how to set it up best for live work (which I play about once a week).

Any thoughts or suggestions?

-Tom

PS. Yes... I have a half power switch. I have it in half power all the time.

4. agentcooper2001

agentcooper2001 Member

i must play really loud! I played the Black Cat in full power on the EF86 channel at about 10:00 or so with the master out of the circuit. No wonder my drummer always put something between him and my amp at our shows. :D

5. tlester

tlester Member

Hehe!!! Yeah.... it's loud. For normal playing, I'm cool with it. For recording, I'm cool with it. It sounds great!

However.... I do a once a week gig at church. That's where I need it a bit quieter.

-Tom

6. Cranknfrank

Cranknfrank Member

Tom,